Michigan High School Interscholastic Bowling Coaches Association

Month: February 2023

Polling and awards

Second round of polling has begun!!

Please make sure a league representative sends in your league sheet for consideration

Deadline for mailing in award applications is Feb 25 get those in now!!

Updated: February 15, 2023 — 11:19 am

Former Macomb County HS Bowlers win USBC Eagle Award

USBC Eagle Presentation

DiLaura Brothers 1



Congratulations from Phil and Mark and the Board of Directors


The Eagle:

Already a national symbol, the American eagle immediately was incorporated into the fabric of the United States Bowling Congress Open Championships, appearing on the championship medals at the inaugural event in 1901. The Eagle, also included in variations of the American Bowling Congress (which later was part of the merger that created the USBC) logo over the years, has remained synonymous with success on the tournament lanes, even as the awards evolved from medals to belt buckles to watches to the Eagle trophies bowlers compete for today.

To competitive bowlers worldwide, the idea of claiming an “Eagle” needs no additional explanation and remains one of the most prestigious accomplishments in the sport of bowling each year. Beginning in 2017, winners in all three Open Championships divisions now earn a version of the new Eagle trophy and add their names to the tournament record book, which features nearly 120 years of history. Another great tradition at the Open Championships is recognizing all past champions by placing an orange Eagle, a gold cup or the word “Champion” next to their names on the scoreboard each year they compete.

For many, turning around and seeing this for the first time is the moment the magnitude of the accomplishment finally sinks in. For others, bowling well doesn’t always end with hoisting the coveted Eagle trophy, so an on-site award program was introduced in 1950 to recognize bowlers for reaching predetermined score plateaus in team, doubles and individual events.

So today our honorees are:

Jay Lang – winner of 3 Eagles – Team in 1997, Team All Events in 1999 & Team All Events in 2022

Ronnie Sparks – winner of 2 Eagles – Singles in 2015, and Team All Events in 2022

John Kelly – Team All Events 2022

Ryan VanHecke – Team All events 2022

John Buffa – Team All Events 2022

Not only did these gentlemen win, but they broke the record doing so:

10,585 – Ronnie 2201, Jay 2167, John Kelley 2099, Ryan 2092, and John Buffa 2026

Amazing bowling and we are so proud!

Thank you for solidifying what I always say – we are the bowling capital of the world!

Congratulations and continued success on and off the lanes!

Updated: February 7, 2023 — 8:08 am

Visit The Phantom Radio bowling pod cast, our own Chase being interviewed by PBA Hall of Famer Len Nicholson.  Len, “The Phantom” who we honor withThe naming of our current Post season oil pattern, is one of the true legends of bowling.  “The Phantom”, was the original lane technician for the PBA.  Len and Kegel created the pod cast in 2002.  Len has had over 1200 guests on his pod cast from the bowling world.

Click here to listen

Updated: February 3, 2023 — 10:12 am
MHSIBCA © 2016 Frontier Theme